I took up the role of DVC and Head of Campus, Singapore in early 2019. Prior to that I held the role of Provost at University of Nottingham's China Campus (2015-19) and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (External Engagement) at University of Nottingham UK (2007-15).

I am interested in the manufacturing and performance of polymer composite materials. My group works on a wide range of practical applications ranging from medical implants to aerospace structures. I collaborate with industry and business and currently supervise about half a dozen PhD students. Current projects include lightning strike protection, fire resistant structures, synthetic bone replacement materials and recycling of carbon fibre composites.

  • Composite Materials Fibre science Manufacturing Materials Processing Mechanics
  • Solid Mechanics, Fibre Reinforced Composite Materials
Research Disciplines
  • 2018 - Order of the British Empire
  • 2018 - West Lake Award from Zhejiang Provincial Government
  • 2017 - Camellia Award from Ningbo Municipal Government
  • 2015 - Icebreaker Award from 48 Group Club
  • 2013 - Changbaishan Award from Jilin Provincial Government
  • 1994 - Institution of Mechanical Engineers
  • 1993 - Institute of Materials
  • 1999 to 2000 - Royal Academy of Engineering Foresight Fellow

These are the most recent publications associated with this author. To see a detailed profile of all publications stored at JCU, visit ResearchOnline@JCU.

Journal Articles
Other research outputs

The map shows research collaborations by institution from the past 7 years.
Note: Map points are indicative of the countries or states that institutions are associated with.

  • 5+ collaborations
  • 4 collaborations
  • 3 collaborations
  • 2 collaborations
  • 1 collaboration
  • Indicates the Tropics (Torrid Zone)

Connect with me
Share my profile
Share my profile:

Advisory Accreditation
Advisor Mentor (P)
Find me on…
Icon for LinkedIn profile page Icon for Google Scholar profile Icon for ORCID profile Icon for Publons reviewer profile

Similar to me

  1. Dr Katia Bazaka
    College of Science & Engineering
  2. Dr Rosalind Gummow
    College of Science & Engineering
  3. A/Prof Michael Oelgemoeller
    College of Science & Engineering
  4. A/Prof Rabin Tuladhar
    College of Science & Engineering
  5. A/Prof Ling Yin
    College of Science & Engineering