I am Associate Professor of Communication and Journalism, and Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning. I  teach foundation and capstone Humanities subjects in the Bachelor of Arts.

My research interests are multi-disciplinary and cut across the areas of media history and censorship, communication, gaming and social capital formation, and mental health. As Associate Dean, Learning and Teaching (2015-2017; 2019-2021), I provided leadership and engagement in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) in the college, and led work in curriculum development and review, staff professional development as well as student transformation and transition into and out of the university. My teaching and research activities in Work Integrated Learning (WIL) have been recognised by way of awards including two JCU Citations and a national Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning from the Office for  Teaching and Learning (OLT).

As an academic, I have over 30 years of tertiary teaching experience in the Philippines, the US and Australia. I have also worked as a journalist across media platforms and produced television news, documentaries and public affairs programs for the major television channels in the Philippines. I was a founding staff member and columnist for the Daily Tribune. 

I received a Fulbright Scholarship and studied at the New School for Social Research (now New School University) in New York. I am a fellow of the Salzburg Global Seminar.

Before moving to Australia in 2003, I was associate professor at De la Salle University (Manila). I joined Monash University in 2004, then moved to JCU in 2008. I am currently based in JCU's  Nguma-bada campus in sunny and tropical Cairns. 




  • BA3000: Arts Edge (Level 3; CNS)
  • CU1010: Effective Writing (Level 1; CNS & ONL)
  • CU1200: Effective Speaking (Level 1; TSV)
  • JN1005: Introduction to Multimedia Journalism, Writing and Communication (Level 1; TSV)
  • JN3304: Multimedia Writing Projects (Level 3; TSV)
  • Media censorship
  • Mental health
  • work-integrated learning (WIL) and curriculum development
  • gaming behaviour and the production of social capital; political engagement
  • Youth justice and community safety
  • Intergenerational and multicultural communication
  • Multimedia production
  • Work Integrated Learning and embedding placement into subjects
  • Curriculum design and delivery including eAssessment and authentic assessment
  • Public relations and campaign management
  • 2019 to present - Associate Dean, Learning and Teaching, James Cook University (Cairns, Queensland)
  • 2017 to 2018 - Coordinator, BA, James Cook University (Queensland)
  • 2008 to 2018 - Senior Lecturer, James Cook University (Queensland)
  • 2015 to 2017 - Associate Dean, Learning and Teaching, James Cook University (Queensland)
  • 2012 to 2016 - Coordinator, Bachelor of Multimedia Journalism program, James Cook University (Queensland)
  • 2004 to 2008 - Lecturer, Monash University (Victoria, Australia)
  • 2003 to 2005 - Columnist, The Philippine Times: Australia's Filipino Newspaper (Melbourne, Victoria)
  • 1987 to 2003 - Associate Professor, De La Salle University (Philippines)
  • 2000 to 2002 - Columnist, The Daily Tribune (Manila, Philippines)
  • 1991 to 1993 - Executive Assistant to the Dean, New School for Social Research (New York, USA)
  • 1986 to 1991 - Executive Producer (AV and TV), Visions, Inc. (Manila, Philippines)
  • 1986 to 1988 - Supervising Producer and Video Editor, Nightline:Manila (Manila, Philippines)
  • 1985 to 1987 - Columnist and Publisher, Balitang Kababayan (Manila, Philippines)
  • 1984 to 1986 - Research Associate to the Dean, Institute of Mass Communication, UP (Manila, Philippines)
  • 1981 to 1986 - Lecturer, University of the Philippines (Manila, Philippines)
Research Disciplines
Socio-Economic Objectives
  • U.S. Fulbright Scholar
  • 2021 - JCU Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning - For developing an inclusive and responsive Humanities capstone curriculum that motivates diverse cohorts to develop capabilities for work-readiness as critical thinkers and problem-solvers
  • 2018 - CASE Strategic Funds; Enhancing the Bachelor of Arts degree with a focus on work-readiness and employability through internship and placement in the capstone, $10,000
  • 2017 - TropEco Award for Partnerships and Engagement - High Commendation for CrimWatch; weekly radio segment on TripleT Townsville Community Radio station
  • 2015 - JCU COGNOS Top User of the Year
  • 2014 - Australian Award for University Teaching -- Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning -- Wired for Employment: For leadership and excellence in developing and delivering a pioneering WIL-based curriculum in Multimedia Journalism
  • 2014 - JCU Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning
  • 2013 - Top Paper Award (with Dr Lilnabeth Somera and Dr Francis Dalisay), 63rd Annual Conference of the International Communication Association (Intergroup Communication Interest Group). London, England, June 17-21, 2013.
  • 2009 - DEEWR (Curriculum Refresh -AUFT), $67.644 Curriculum Refresh project: Establishing the new Bachelor of Multimedia Journalism (with Dr Lindsay Simpson)
  • 2009 - Carrick Institute for Learning & Teaching, $ 6000 Work Integrated Learning and Multimedia Journalism benchmarking project
  • Yale University China Studies Fellow, University of Hongkong
  • Salzburg Global Seminar Fellow, Austria (https://www.salzburgglobal.org/)
  • Pi Gamma Mu International Honor Society (lifetime)
  • Australian Collaborative Education Network (ACEN)
  • 2007 to 2020 - Journalism Education and Research Association of Australia (JERAA)
  • 2016 - JCU LTSE grant: E-book production (Public Relations); $2000
  • 2015 - JCU LTSE grant: E-book production (Public Relations); $2000
  • 2015 - JCU LTSE grant: Curriculum Research on 3Cs in Mental Health Education in Social Work; $10,000 with Dr Abraham Francis, Dr Narayan Gopalkrishnan and Ms Claire Swift (JCU Library)
  • 2013 - JCU TLD grant: Curriculum Mapping; $10,510 with the Modern Languages discipline
  • 2009 - JCU Faculty Grants Scheme, $3900 Media industry perspectives on journalism student's work readiness
  • 2020 to 2021 - Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT) assessor

These are the most recent publications associated with this author. To see a detailed profile of all publications stored at JCU, visit ResearchOnline@JCU. Hover over Altmetrics badges to see social impact.

Journal Articles
Book Chapters
Conference Papers

ResearchOnline@JCU stores 34+ research outputs authored by A/Prof Amy Forbes from 2002 onwards.

Connect with me
Share my profile
Share my profile:

Advisory Accreditation
Primary Advisor
Find me on…
Icon for ORCID profile Icon for Google Scholar profile Icon for Academia.edu profile Icon for LinkedIn profile page Icon for Vimeo page Icon for Scopus Author page

Similar to me

  1. Dr Marie Oelgemoeller
    Social Sciences
  2. Simone Ross